

PRESIDENT BUHARI APPOINTS EKPUNGU EFCC SECRETARY, NAMES BOARD MEMBERS

President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed George Abang Expunge as the Secretary of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC). The appointment is for a fresh tenure of five years.

Also appointed as Board Members of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission are Luqman Muhammad (South South), Anumba Adaeze (South East), Alhaji Kola Raheem Adesina (North Central) and Alhaji Yahya Muhammad (North East).

These appointments are in line with Section 2 (1) and Section 4 of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission Act, 2004. According to the statement, EFCC has been operating without Board Members since 2015. The President has directed the forwarding of the names to the Senate for confirmation.